Olympics…Do They Inspire You?

The Olympics just finished and I’m kind of sad!  I wait anxiously for the 2 weeks every 2 years when I can watch the Olympics on TV and watch sports that I would never otherwise watch!  There’s just something about thousands of athletes giving it there all for their country after training so hard for that one moment.  I find it amazing how hard these athletes train all their lives for one potential opportunity to compete once every 4 years.  They give up everything (jobs, family time, maybe some friendships) and they may not even make it to the Games.  But it is so exciting watching the passion these athletes have for their sport and the drive and determination to perform their best.  It breaks my heart when someone fails or falls or  injures themselves…they are so devastated having worked so hard and then not being able to show that off.

Even more inspiring could be the Paralympics!  Those athletes have overcome some amazing obstacles to get where they are.  I sure hope there is decent coverage of the games (They start next week!) with some back stories of these phenomenal athletes!

It often makes me wonder…how much passion must you have for that one sport or skill that you are willing to sacrifice so much in order to make it that far!  Are any of you that passionate about anything in your life that you can become that successful?  Are you that passionate about your career, your family, your hobbies?  I can think of a few people who are.

I’ve always thought that entrepreneurs must be that passionate about their idea in order to take that big of a risk in opening a new business.  Or new authors who write their first books hoping that people will like their stories.  Or anyone with that much passion that they will put themselves out there with the risk of failure!

So, for me there is more to watching the Olympics than just watching the Olympics!  It makes me think about the many people in my life who have that drive and passion to do great things!  Hopefully you can find something in your life that makes you feel like an Olympian!

Author: thehealthylifesaver

I have been a paramedic for 17 years and over the years I have seen unhealthy lifestyle habits and many injuries to coworkers and friends. I have a passion for the health, wellness, and career longevity of Paramedics and decided to start a blog to promote these qualities. I hope to start a change in our physically and mentally demanding profession of paramedicine towards taking better care of ourselves.

Leave a Reply

